tweet, tweet, tweet revisited

In my last blog (which no longer exists), I posted my musings on what was a new fad at the time–Twitter. Those of you that read my blog back then know what I’m talking about–I hated any and all things Twitter. As someone who has deleted my Facebook wall and therefore no longer posts “status updates,” signing up for another social profile site that was basically composed of nothing but Facebook statuses made no sense to me. I wanted no part in it and refused to ever succumb to the ridiculousness that was called, “Twitter.”

Until one day I did. I made an account to follow the LA Times, some celebrities, and a few friends. And then, look what happened. I was regularly tweeting from my Blackberry. That “ubertwitter” application made it all too easy for me to tweet and read my followers’ tweets. I frequently retweeted about news exclusive to Los Angeles, which pertained to zero of my followers, but seemed important to me as I wish I was concerned about traffic on the 101 in the late afternoon hours. I responded to others’ tweets, asked questions, and sometimes had a whole conversation with others through Twitter.

Those that follow me on Twitter may have noticed that I have not been tweeting much as of lately. (If that is such a thing to notice, I don’t know) I’ve been thinking a lot about Twitter and my thoughts on it that I was once so passionate and headstrong. I met with a Dean at Columbia last week who teaches social media at the University. Before meeting with him, I was reading about his background and what he does in addition to his teaching. I came across an interview posted on mediabistro.com that asked his thoughts on Twitter, since it is such a huge social media device. He tweets a lot, but keeps the tweets 120 characters or less to give people the room to “retweet” (RT) and/or “quote” the tweet and respond. He also does not tweet things like, “At the Peabody in Orlando!” or “Sitting by the pool!” No one cares where he is or what he’s doing. The idea behind Twitter is also the idea behind journalism–what is interesting? What do people care about? What is something that someone else would want to “retweet” what you say?

Then I realized that most of my tweets were the ridiculous “at the Ritz Carlton!” or “going to the beach!” Which didn’t generate any retweets or responses in the slightest. Why? NO ONE CARES. I don’t know why I decided that it was okay to tweet things like that when I’ve thought for years now that it was never okay to state things like that on Facebook statuses. I had literally become a walking controversy.

My challenge now is to not stop using Twitter altogether, but to learn to tweet things that are interesting. Before I tweet something, I ask myself, “Who cares about this? What makes this tweet-worthy?” If the answer is “no one” and “it doesn’t,” then I really shouldn’t tweet it. Period. And the more I think this way, the more I start thinking like a journalist. The more I start thinking like a journalist, the more I realize that this is actually a way of training my brain to think completely differently. I have to think like a journalist. No longer as an imaginative, flowery vernacular-ed novelist or wanna-be Carrie Bradshaw.

Journalist. Journalism. All. The. Time.

5 thoughts on “tweet, tweet, tweet revisited

  1. I was vehemently against Twitter for the longest time. I finally started using it this past spring and have found some definitely advantages to it. I don’t tweet every day, and sometimes I’ll read all tweets but won’t respond to anything. But I’ve really enjoyed the connections I’ve made with it.

    I’m SO excited for you and your journey to grad school. I’ve only been reading your blog for a short while, but I love your honest, even handed voice. Even in your sorority story, which was definitely dramatic, you remained incredibly objective – which is one of the greatest qualities of a good journalist! I’m looking forward to reading more about your path to Columbia or Berkley!

  2. I fully agree, Tay. Who cares where someone is (except your family, of course!) or what someone is doing at any given moment? Same with facebook statuses. I think social media definitely has some great advantages, but constantly updating trivial things that no one cares about (or making “witty” comments that get old) is not one of them…

  3. agree! no one cares! glad you came to that. i found myself glossing over some people’s FB statuses because they are always the same type of thing–sports scores, to do list for the day, etc.

  4. As someone who spends almost every minute of her spare time reading up on and studying social media, I can tell you right now that those “pointless” tweets so many of us ramble away every day are a *very* important element to the framework of Twitter. Twitter experts refer to this as “ambient intimacy.” Basically, what it does is it puts a persona behind a name. If, for example, you follow a company like Bloomingdales on Twitter (or something of the sort) ambient intimacy is what separates their voice on Twitter from any old form of advertising…or spam for that matter. If Bloomingdales Tweets about an office party, or a social gathering you’re more likely to feel connected to the brand. From a marketing standpoint, it’s one of the best ways to engage with consumers the business world might never have known before the days of social media. I, for one, have had many responses from companies and complete strangers I never thought would communicate with me about the silliest of things. While it seems dumb, when it comes around to posting something important… you’ll notice.

    If we were always posting “important” things, Twitter wouldn’t be quite the platform it should. Not a day goes by when I don’t scroll right on past CNN’s breaking news tweets because they literally post a headline and a link… which does very little to grab my attention. Twitter is an incredible tool, it just needs to be used creatively…. which we all have room to improve upon.

    The point is… the beautiful thing about Twitter (and social media in general) is that if you don’t like what someone has to say, you don’t have to read it and vice versa. All it takes is a simple click to “unfollow” and those Tweets “no one cares about” are gone.

Share Your Thoughts

