Capitalism: No Love Story Here

A few months ago, I mentioned that I had done the unthinkable–watched a Michael Moore documentary, Bowling for Columbine. Well, as if I wasn’t pleased enough with all of the “reactions” I received on that, I decided to watch a new-to-instant-Netflix additional documentary by Michael Moore, this time titled Capitalism: A Love Story.

Pause for reaction.


I know, I know. The girl who always turns around the covers of all things Michael Moore in stores has now watched two of his movies. It may seem contradicting, but as I explained before–I don’t think it’s fair for me to hate something I am obviously ignorant about and never seen before. So, if I watch it, at least my hate will be valid and educated, right? Just go with it.

I actually did not like this one as much as I thought I would. What drew me to want to watch it was the previews I saw for it in theaters–it appeared to be a Michael Moore documentary I might possibly agree with, even if not in its entirety.

Pause for reaction.

I was completely on track with him for the first hour of the movie until it started getting too political for me to handle. I got lost at the presentation of the Goldman Sachs issue that I already know little about to begin with. (A statement which my employer would probably fire me if they knew the truth when it comes to me and finances) But anyway, the first half was easy to follow and I found myself nodding with a lot of his points. First, the movie starts with what he’s afraid this age of America will be remembered by–foreclosures and police kicking people out of their own homes. It was incredibly sad to see what people have gone through with their homes and to hear actually stories from people who have lost their family’s houses and acres of land they have inherited. One man explained his monthly payments–first being affordable at $1700, then jumping to $2000, finally becoming in-affordable at $2300  a month.

He then went on to talk about banks who have taken out life insurance policies on people they knew had the probability of dying soon (whether that be from an illness such as cancer or something else) and them naming themselves (the bank) the beneficiary of over a million dollars awarded to them at the time of their death, leaving the widowed spouses with little to no reward on the life insurance policy. This is atrocious to hear as I cannot believe banks are basically betting on the lives of those that they somehow find out are diagnosed with terminal illnesses. I don’t see how this could be right or even allowed in anyone’s eyes, but perhaps the banks are “getting away” with it because of the current state of the economy. I have my own thoughts in life insurance policies as it is, after seeing many episodes of 48 Hours, and I’m almost afraid to take on a policy for myself. Many people have killed their entire families, spouses, and parents just because they know what the life insurance policy is on them. Is this really what our country (and world for that matter) is coming to?

And then he went into the Goldman Sachs ordeal, along with Citigroup, AIG, etc. And that’s where I got lost. After an hour of hearing all of the financial talk I’m used to hearing 40 hours a week that might as well be Swedish to me, it ended with Michael Moore putting up crime scene tape across the outside of the New York Stock Exchange, Goldman Sachs, AIG, etc, telling the security guards that there had been a crime committed in these buildings and everyone should know.

So, my take on it? Too much politics. Too much opinion. And way, way, way too much financial talk. And, an apparent negative spin on my favorite President of all time, Ronald Reagan. I didn’t find out what the “love story” in this story was exactly, but perhaps it had to do with America’s love of money. Or the rich loving money so much they get richer, while the poor get poorer. Or perhaps it’s Michael Moore’s love for being known as the single most successful documentary filmmaker of my time.

Whatever the case, I applaud Michael Moore for his successful reaching of his opinion to the American public and even the world. He has reached far more people than I ever will in my lifetime.

Pause for reaction.

Share Your Thoughts

